Close Menu

ChBE Department Honors Students, Faculty, and Alumni at Annual Awards Dinner

Armour College of Engineering’s Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (ChBE) co-hosted the annual ChBE Awards Dinner with the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Illinois Institute of Technology student chapter on April 28, 2016 in the Tech Park Atrium. The event was well attended by alumni, students, faculty, and staff.

Thea Davis (CHE, 5th year) delivered the senior address and Catherine A. O’Connor (Ph.D. ‘03), Director of Engineering at the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, gave the alumni address.

Attendees were notified that Javad Abbasian, Professor of Chemical Engineering, was named the recipient of the 2016 Illinois Institute of Technology Bauer Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award. The AIChE-IIT Student Chapter was also highlighted for being the recipient of the 2015-2016 AIChE Outstanding Student Chapter Award. The ChBE department also honored several students, faculty, and alumni with awards at the dinner.


McCormack Award:  Yanxin (Jane) Li (CHE, 4th year)
Faculty Choice Award for Academic Excellence: Ryan Delaney (CHE, 4th year)
Faculty Choice Award for Academic Excellence: Thea Davis (CHE, 5th year)
Faculty Choice Award for Undergraduate Research: Raj Desai (CHE, 5th year)
Faculty Choice Award for Departmental Service: Olha Zvarych (CHE, 4th year)


Hamid Arastoopour Excellence in Teaching Award: Donald Chmielewski
Hamid Arastoopour TA of the Year Award: Mohsen Dirbaz (Ph.D Student, CHE)


James Ondyak (BS/MS ChE ‘75), Executive VP, Dorf Ketal Chemical
Seung-Hyeon Moon (PhD ChE ‘90), President, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology.