Close Menu

Professor Mohammad Shahidehpour Named to 2016 Class of AAAS Fellows

Mohammad Shahidehpour, Bodine Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Director of the Robert W. Galvin Center for Electricity Innovation, and Associate Director of the Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research, has been named to the 2016 Class of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows. The organization annually elects members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Dr. Shahidehpour was cited as receiving the honor for his renowned contributions to the field of electric power engineering, particularly to the design of renewable energy sources, energy sustainability, power grid modernization, and microgrids.

Shahidehpour received his B.S. in electrical engineering from Sharif University of Technology and his M.S. in electrical engineering and Ph.D. from the University of Missouri. His research expertise includes power system operation and planning, microgrids and energy hubs as well as sustainable energy integration. He is an IEEE Fellow (2001) and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering (2016). View the Robert W. Galvin Center for Electricity Innovation website more information about Dr. Shahidehpour’s research.