Close Menu

Seeking Applications/Nominations for the Hyosung S.R. Cho Professorship in Chemical Engineering

Endowed chairs in engineering at Illinois Tech recognize faculty for his/her overall academic accomplishments and contributions to the engineering profession and Illinois Tech in the areas of research, teaching, and service.

Applicant and/or nominees for the Hyosung S.R. Cho Professorship are required to be full time faculty with tenure in the CHBE department at the rank of Professor.

Candidates (or those nominating a colleague) are asked to submit the following material for consideration by the selection committee:

1) Updated CV 

2) Statement (maximum of two pages) supporting the candidacy of the applicant or nominee. The statement should describe why s/he should be awarded the Cho chair, and provide a general plan ahead as the Cho professor.

The selection committee is composed by the following engineering chair professors: 

Leon Shaw (Rowe Family Chair Professor in Sustainable Energy - Chair of the Selection Committee), Darsh Wasan (Motorola Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering), Hamid Arastoopour (Henry R. Linden Professor of Engineering),  John Georgiadis (R. A Pritzker Professor of Biomedical Engineering), Qing- Chang Zhong (Max McGraw Chair Professor of Energy and Power Engineering and Management), and John Shen (Grainger Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering)

The deadline to receive application/nomination packages is Tuesday, October 31, 2017.
All nomination/application material should be submitted to the ACE Dean via email at

All eligible ChBE Professors are invited to apply. 
All engineering faculty are invited to nominate eligible colleagues.