Close Menu

ChBE Donald Chmielewski Selected as 2018 AICHE Thiele Award Recipient

Armour College of Engineering Professor of Chemical Engineering Donald J. Chmielewski has been named the named the recipient of the 2018 Ernest W. Thiele Award from the Chicago Section of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). The accolade is one of the highest honors a distinguished chemical engineer can receive from the Chicago Section.

The award, sponsored by British Petroleum (BP), is presented annual by the AIChE Chicago Section to a Midwest region AIChE member who has made outstanding contributions to advance the practice of Chemical Engineering. This internationally recognized award consists of an engraved plaque and $1,000 honorarium presented at the Chicago AIChE sectional meeting.

Armour College of Engineering faculty members who have been recognized with the honor in the past include Professor of Chemical Engineering Satish Parulekar (2016); Distinguished Motorola Professor of Chemical Engineering and Vice President for International Affairs, Darsh Wasan (1989); Henry R. Linden Professor of Engineering and Director of the Wanger Institute for Sustainability and Energy Research (WISER), Hamid Arastoopour (1997); Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director of the Engineering Center for Diabetes Research and Education, Ali Cinar (2003); and Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Dimitri Gidaspow (2005).