Close Menu

Electrical Engineering

Grainger Endowed Chair Professor in Electrical and Power Engineering Zheng John Shen was elected a 2018 fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).

“It is a great honor to be the fourth Illinois Tech faculty member to receive this recognition after Alan Cramb (2015), Hamid Arastoopour (2016), and Mohammad Shahidehpour (2017),” says Shen.


“The way I think about Alexa is the way AI is revolutionizing daily convenience,” said Rohit Prasad (M.S. EE ’99), vice president and head scientist at Amazon Alexa, as he opened the 2018 Darsh T. Wasan Lecture at Illinois Tech’s Mies Campus on November 12. “That’s the mission we are on.”


On October 23, 2014, Armour College of Engineering Student Abiodun Iwayemi (EE, Ph.D. Candidate) was awarded second place in the ComEd Student Innovation Contest. ComEd, the largest electric utility company in Illinois, announced the contest challenging students in their service area to create a piece of technology or a service that that would help low-income customers use smart meter information to manage their electric bill and save money.


Subscribe to RSS - Electrical Engineering